Failure to Register as a Sex Offender
When a person is required to register as a sex offender in Texas, any failure to comply with the requirements can constitute a felony offense. Many people accused of failing to register as sex offenders are either individuals who frequently travel for work or people who have recently relocated.
Texas Code of Criminal Procedure § 62.051(a) requires any person who has a reportable conviction or adjudication or who is required to register as a condition of parole, release to mandatory supervision, or community supervision to register or, if the person is a person for whom registration is completed, verify registration with the local law enforcement authority in any municipality where the person resides or intends to reside for more than seven days. If a person does not reside or intend to reside in a municipality, he or she must register or verify registration in any county where the person resides or intends to reside for more than seven days.
Lawyer for Failure to Register as a Sex Offender in Conroe, TX
Were you recently arrested in Montgomery County or Harris County for allegedly failing to register as a sex offender? Do not say anything to authorities without first contacting Evans & Powell, PLLC.
Conroe criminal defense attorneys Sean Evans and Frank Powell represent clients accused of sexual offenses in communities throughout Montgomery County and Harris County, such as Oak Ridge North, Patton Village, The Woodlands, Pinehurst, Shenandoah, Willis, and many others. Our lawyers will review your case and answer all of your legal questions when you call (936) 622-2000 to schedule a free, confidential consultation.
Montgomery County Failure to Register as a Sex Offender Information Center
- How are alleged failures to register crimes classified?
- What are the consequences of a conviction for failure to comply with registration requirements?
- Where can I learn more about failure to register as a sex offender in Conroe?
Chapter 62 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure covers the Texas Sex Offender Registration Program. Texas Code of Criminal Procedure § 62.051 establishes that a person commits a criminal offense if he or she is required to register and fails to comply with any requirement of this Chapter.
Criminal offenses for failure to comply with registration requirements are graded according to how often the alleged offenders were required to register. Generally, failure to register as a sex offender charges are classified as follows:
- State jail felony if an alleged offender was required to register once a year for (ten) 10 years;
- Third-degree felony if an alleged offender was required to register once a year for life; or
- Second-degree felony if an alleged offender was required to register every 90 days for life.
If an alleged offender has previously been convicted of an offense or an attempt to commit a failure to comply with registration requirements offense, or the alleged offender fraudulently used identifying information in violation of Texas Penal Code § 32.51 during the commission or attempted commission of the alleged offense, the punishment will be increased to the next highest degree of felony.
Any one of a number of honest oversights can lead to a person being charged with failure to comply with registration requirements in Texas. Convictions for failure to register as a sex offender can carry very serious consequences, depending on the classification of the alleged offense:
- State jail felony — Up to two years in county jail and/or a fine of up to $10,000;
- Third-degree felony — Up to 10 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000;
- Second-degree felony — Up to 20 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000; or
- First-degree felony — Up to 99 years or life in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
Texas Sex Offender Registration Program Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) — Visit this section of the Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS) website to find answers to 20 of the most commonly asked questions about sex offender registration. Answers here cover who is required to register, what constitutes a reportable conviction or adjudication, and who sex offenders register with. Additional topics covered include numeric risk levels, lengths of required registration, and how the public is notified when sex offenders live in their community.
The Dru Sjodin National Sex Offender Public Website (NSOPW) — Dru Sjodin was a 22-year-old Grand Forks, North Dakota college student who was kidnapped and murdered by a sex offender registered in Minnesota. The National Sex Offender Public Registry (NSOPR) was renamed in her honor in 2006, and you can read more about Dru Sjodin’s story and search for sex offenders by name, address, zip code, county, or city or town on this website. Also read answers to frequently asked questions and view an interactive map of public registry sites.
Evans & Powell, PLLC | Conroe Failure to Register as a Sex Offender Defense Attorney
If you were recently arrested for alleged failure to comply with registration requirements in Montgomery County or Harris County it is in your best interest to retain legal counsel as soon as possible. Evans & Powell, PLLC defends long-time residents as well as people who have recently relocated to Cut and Shoot, Porter Heights, Magnolia, Woodbranch, Panorama Village, Splendora, and many other surrounding communities in Montgomery County and Harris County.
Sean Evans and Frank Powell are experienced criminal defense lawyers in Conroe who are dedicated to helping you achieve the most favorable possible outcome to your case that results in the fewest penalties. Call (936) 622-2000 or submit an online contact form to have our attorneys provide a complete evaluation of your case during a free initial consultation.